St Albans v Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 26 Jun 2010 at 11:30
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Won 112 runs

Match report Sawbridgeworth pulled 25 points clear of the HCPL drop zone as they recorded a convincing 112-run win over basement club St Albans on Saturday.

Everything went right for stand-in captain Danny Wilson after he won the toss and elected to bat at a sultry Clarence Park.

For the first time since they joined the Home Counties Premier League in 2004, Sawbo did not lose a wicket in the morning session as Wilson and Charlie Rudkin recorded the team's first century partnership of the season, reaching 102 without loss after 35 overs at lunch.

The pair added a further 26 runs after the resumption when Wilson was adjudged to edged the ball onto his pad which was caught by Saints 'keeper James Rosson.

Sawbo were 128-1 with 21 of their 60 over allocation remaining but they more than doubled their score as they surpassed 200 for the first time this term.

Rudkin played a brilliant anchor role for his 83, hitting 11 fours in a marathon 160 ball innings which spanned 55.2 overs and 183 minutes, before he eventually holed out to long-on.

With an excellent platform set by the openers, this allowed Fernando licence to produce his first major substantial innings this season. After a circumspect start, he struck 87 from just 65 balls, including five fours and five sixes as the home fielders began to wilt in the searing heat.

Sawbridgeworth scored 84 from their final 10 overs with Joe Rudkin and Jackson both scoring at more than a run a ball in closing stages.

McKinlay scored the first 17 runs of St Albans' reply before losing his opening partner Barnes to the final ball of the fifth over. He would be the first of five St Albans to be dismissed lbw, and also the first of five wickets to fall of the final ball of an over.

Aslam scored a breezy 27 off 22 balls before departing in Wilson's first over but McKinlay remained firm as the visitors advanced to 70-2 with 11 minutes to go before tea.

They lost three wickets without addition to the score. McKinlay and Dorsett were both caught at short cover in between Miller claiming his first ever wicket for Sawbo, trapping Chaudry in front for 8.

Jones become Wilson's fourth victim when he was comprehensively bowled by the former Essex all-rounder and at 82-6, it seemed only a matter of time that Sawbo would wrap up their second win of the season.

Saints' veteran skipper Phil Caley launched an entertaining counter-attack, reeling off four boundaries in Miller's last over. He added 57 for the seventh wicket in just 54 balls with Chanda and he eventually struck 11 fours in 39 balls. He fell one short of a deserved 50, but was bowled by what the player himself described as a "late inswinging yorker."

Khan was trapped in front first ball to leave St Albans on 149-9 but Fernando missed the chance of a hat-trick when his lbw shout was turned down by umpire Steve Waterhouse, who had an excellent match alongside Raj Shah.

The home side's last pair had 11 overs to survive but could manage only three as Rosson was lbw to Wilson, who became only the eighth player since 1984 to score a half-century and take five wickets in the same 1st XI league match for Sawbridgeworth.

It was a confidence-boosting win for Sawbo, who welcome back skipper Joe Holland for Saturday's home clash with Stevenage.

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Danny Wilson ct Rosson b Aslam 66
Charlie Rudkin ct McKinlay b Chaudry 83
Hasantha Fernando ct Chanda b Chaudry 87 2
Steve Ashman b Aslam 0
Joe Rudkin Not Out  14
Rob Sanders ct Dorsett b Chaudry 2
Olly Jackson Not Out  8
Matt Birch  
Alex Syed  
Donovan Miller  
Chris Howard  

St Albans Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Dan Longhurst7.003000.004.29
Afroz Khan8.031900.002.37
Shaharyar Aslam23.03103251.504.48
Martin Jones6.011500.002.50
Ian McKinlay5.013100.006.20
Jim Chaudry11.0166322.006.00

St Albans Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
153 (0.0 overs)
Ian McKinlay ct Fernando b Wilson 30
Matthew Barnes lbw b Fernando 0
Shaharyar Aslam lbw b Wilson 27
Jim Chaudry lbw b Miller 8
Sandipan Chanda b Fernando 23
Phil Dorsett ct Fernando b Wilson 0
Martin Jones b Wilson 0
Phil Caley b Fernando 49
James Rosson lbw b Wilson 2
Afroz Khan lbw b Fernando 0
Dan Longhurst Not Out  1

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Hasantha Fernando14.043749.252.64
Chris Howard5.012800.005.60
Danny Wilson12.043056.002.50
Donovan Miller7.0232132.004.57
Matt Birch4.021800.004.50

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    le chien blanc