Chingford v Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 17 Apr 2010 at 1:30
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Lost 67 runs

Match report There were many encouraging signs for Joe Holland's new-look Sawbridgeworth side in spite of a 67-run defeat in their opening friendly of the 2010 campaign.

Chasing 239 in this 45 overs a side match, the visitors were left with only pride to play after they slumped to 25-3 after 10 overs.

Sanders ensured respectability as he top-scored with 62, hitting 13 fours from 103 balls on the ground where he recorded his maiden century for Sawbo at the end of last season.

He added 68 for the fourth wicket with Purnell, whose 59-ball stay at the crease provided him with useful early season practice.

Ashman struck a breezy 23 before McMurray took two wickets in two balls before Cunningham and Syed scored 24 off the last four overs, although the result had been decided long ago.

Earlier, Sawbo had needed just nine balls to take their first wicket of the season before Taylor (78 off 62 balls, 16 fours) and Kirnon added 96 for the second wicket.

The vistors fought back as Chingford were reduced from 100-1 to 159-5 with Jackson claiming a return catch off the very first ball he bowled for his new club!

Daniels took the game away from the visitors by smashing 53 off 36 balls before the last five wickets fell for five runs. All seven bowlers used by Holland took a wicket, with the captain himself needing just three balls to wrap up the innings.

Chingford Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
238 (0.0 overs)
Alfie Taylor ct  Cunningham b Syed 78
Shaun McMurray ct  Cunningham b James 0
Sam Kirnon lbw  b Cunningham 25
Truptesh Patel st  Ashman b Syed 31
Rezwan Rehman ct  & bowled Jackson 18
Ben MacGregor b  Howard 18
Len Daniels lbw  b Morgan 53
Zeshan Rehman b  Morgan 0
Phil Marsh b  Howard 1
Aiden Woodcock Not Out  1
Alex Gordon ct  Ashman b Holland 0

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Chris Howard8.0057228.507.13
Paul James9.0334134.003.78
Kieran Morgan9.0046223.005.11
Ryan Cunningham9.0239139.004.33
Alex Syed7.0130215.004.29
Olly Jackson2.0020120.0010.00
Joe Holland0.30111.002.00

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 8 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Danny Wilson lbw  b Daniels 0
Olly Jackson b  Marsh 0 1
Rob Sanders st  Kirnon b Gordon 62
Joe Holland b  Marsh 12
Rhys Purnell lbw  b McMurray 16
Steve Ashman b  Gordon 23 1 1
Kieran Morgan ct  Patel b McMurray 3
Chris Howard ct  MacGregor b McMurray 9
Ryan Cunningham Not Out  12 2
Alex Syed Not Out  11
Paul James  

Chingford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Len Daniels7.0311111.001.57
Phil Marsh7.0125212.503.57
Aiden Woodcock7.012200.003.14
Ben MacGregor9.022800.003.11
Shaun McMurray9.0233311.003.67
Alex Gordon4.0027213.506.75

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Richard White