Hoddesdon v Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 11 Jun 2011 at 11:30
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Won 30 runs

Match report Kieran Morgan took his first five-wicket haul for eight years as he helped Sawbridgeworth to a vital 30-run win at Lowfield on Saturday.

The 28-year-old off-spinner took 5-38 in 13 overs as his side recorded their first league success since the season's opening day to move above Hoddesdon to seventh in the table.

He was introduced into the attack after 12 overs with the home side having advanced to 54-2 after being set 201 in a minimum of 40 overs.

Morgan needed only four deliveries to break through as he forced Hoddesdon skipper (and former Sawbo player) Rory Coutts to play onto his leg stump with the score on 58.

Craig Handy batted sensibly for 24 to help the visitors reach 85-3 before he perished to a top edge that ended in the safe hands of Burrell. Sam Davies departed to the final ball of Joe Rudkin's first over, falling to a smart slip catch by Danny Wilson before Jamie Curtis was bowled by Morgan.

Hoddesdon had lost three wickets for seven runs in the space of 14 balls and the game looked as good as over. However, Byrne and Harcombe counter-attacked with positive intent as they added 54 for the seventh wicket in just 12 overs.

A brilliant reflex catch by Ellis at short leg accounted for Harcombe before
Byrne fell two short of his 50 after requiring a runner in the latter half of his innings.

Hoddesdon were 162-8 with 15 minutes and a minimum of three overs left. Ross Angelini, who had already been bowled off a Wilson no ball, was trapped in front by the former Sawbo captain. Rhys Jones struck his second and third balls for four before falling to a magnificent diving catch by Ellis at mid-off that sealed the win for the visitors.

It was a victory that Sawbridgeworth were made to work hard for and Joe Holland's decision to bat first paid full dividends. With a maximum of 49 overs at their disposal, Wilson and Charlie Rudkin put on 122 for the first wicket after the latter had been dropped twice early on.

The two players matched each other virtually shot for shot with Rudkin hitting two sixes and four fours to reach 50 for the first time this season. Wilso continued his prolific form (93 balls, seven fours) before both players fell in successive overs.

Marshall's run a ball 17 and Burrell's 32 off 28 deliveries kept the momentum going as they added 49 off just 39 balls. The loss of three quick wickets checked Sawbo's progress as they managed only 38 from the last nine overs but Ellis and Morgan ensured they reached a third batting point.

Rob Walters gave Hoddesdon an aggressive start to their reply as he scored all of his side's 25 runs from just 14 balls before two wickets fell without addition. Sturdy was clean bowled without scoring before Walters drilled Burrell's second ball straight to Holland who took a diving catch at cover.

Coutts got off the mark with a six off Burrell and looked in good touch but the the game changed with the introduction of Morgan, who took his first 5 wicket haul since he took 6-27 at North Mymms in May 2003. He finished on the losing side that day (a rare defeat in Sawbo's double winning season) but on this occasion he contributed to an important win for his side.

On Saturday Sawbridgeworth play host to Potters Bar and will be boosted by the
arrival of new overseas player Chris Chellew who will make his league debut at Town Fields.

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 6 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Danny Wilson ct Sturdy b Curtis 56 1
Charlie Rudkin ct Jones b Davies 58
Phil Marshall ct Sturdy b Hanna 17
Michael Burrell b Hanna 32 1
Joe Rudkin ct Harcombe b Curtis 10
Simon Ellis Not Out  10 2
Joe Holland ct Byrne b Hanna 0 1
Kieran Morgan Not Out  5
Joe Edwards   1
Chris Howard  
Paul James  

Hoddesdon Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Rob Harcombe17.006600.003.88
Reece Hanna 12.0236312.003.00
Sam Davies7.0232132.004.57
Jamie Curtis 13.0057228.504.38

Hoddesdon Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
170 (0.0 overs)
Rob Walters ct Holland b Burrell 25
Todd Sturdy b James 0
Rory Coutts b Morgan 23
Craig Handy ct Burrell b Morgan 24
Sam Davies ct Wilson b Joe Rudkin 4
Jamie Curtis b Morgan 5
Matt Byrne ct Edwards b Morgan 48
Rob Harcombe ct Ellis b Morgan 19
Ross Angelini lbw b Wilson 2
Reece Hanna Not Out  0
Rhys Jones ct Ellis b Wilson 8

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Paul James6.0216116.002.67
Chris Howard2.001700.008.50
Michael Burrell7.0133133.004.71
Kieran Morgan13.043857.602.92
Joe Rudkin8.0045145.005.63
Danny Wilson2.001125.505.50

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Richard M. White