Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI v Hoddesdon on Sat 13 Aug 2011 at 11:30
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Won 9 wickets

Match report Danny Wilson's prolific individual season continued he helped Sawbridgeworth complete a league "double" over Hoddesdon at Town Fields on Saturday.

The 34-year-old, who was skippering the side in the absence of Joe Holland, hit his fourth league century of the season to move level with Daniel Hull on the club's all-time list for most league runs in a season.

Wilson's unbeaten innings of 106 took his tally to 829, and with three games remaining, has a golden chance of at least surpassing Aussie Graham Hanlon's Sawbridgeworth record of 915 that was set in 1995.

Hanlon had been the last Sawbo player to score back-to-back league hundreds until Wilson achieved the feat for the first time in his Sawbo career on Saturday. And the former skipper also became the first Sawbridgeworth player to score four league hundreds in the same season since legendary Australian Rick Allen (1986), whose tally of 748 runs was surpassed when Wilson struck a straight drive off Sam Davis which took him to 29.

One of the success stories of Sawbridgeworth's season has been his opening partnership with Charlie Rudkin. The duo put on 122 for the first wicket in the first game at Hoddesdon and compiled 105 this time around, which added to five
other half-century stands this term, means the duo are averaging 56 as an opening pair this season.

Rudkin was the only wicket to fall, perishing to a top edge off Jamie Curtis in the second over after tea but the pair had already broken the back of their target of 188 in a minimum of 54 overs.

Dropped on 90 by Todd Sturdy at mid-on, Wilson reached three figures with successive boundaries of Davis before punching the air in delight as he levelled the scores.

He finished unbeaten on 106 from 152 balls, having hit 16 fours and a six, which means he has been on the field for every ball of Sawbridgeworth's last two league games.

However, Wilson's achievements eclipsed the important contribution made by Chris Chellew, who not only hit the winning runs to finish 35 not out but earlier had produced a brilliant spell of bowling to turn the game on its head.

The Australian scythed through the Hoddesdon batting line-up by taking 6-9 in 34 balls as the visitors lost their last eight wickets for 28 runs in the space of 12.3 overs.

It had been a stunning contrast to a truncated morning session in which Hoddesdon's top order had raced to 136-2 off just 25 overs after overnight rain had delayed the start until midday. This resulted in eight overs being deducted with a 56 /46 split in the minimum 102 being available.

Walters smashed 52 off just 38 balls in a opening stand of 78 with Kettleborough before holing out to Syed at mid-off. Morgan needed only seven balls to remove Handy to a low catch by Sanders but Kettleborough stood firm having survived two dropped chances as he reached the interval unbeaten on 61.

Hoddesdon struck 24 fours and one six in the first 25 overs but incredibly they managed just two more boundaries after lunch as Sawbo were able to exert more control.

Morgan instigated the collapse when he forced Kettleborough to nick behind to Joe Rudkin before Chellew got to work as he returned his best figures of the season.

Davis was caught behind down the leg-side before he struck twice in his 11th over, trapping Curtis lbw before Sturdy edged through to give Joe Rudkin his third catch as 159-2 had become 163-6.

Rhys Jones was Chellew's fourth victim before his unrelated namesake Rob became number five, fending off a bouncer that Burrell snared at second slip.

Morgan was rewarded for another fine spell as he ended off the innings when Gray
was caught at mid-off. The off-spinner finished with figures of 3-53 in 16.5 overs, cementing his place as Sawbo's most consistent bowler this year.

In the end Sawbridgeworth reached their target with 51 balls to spare but results elsewhere means they remain seventh in the table.

Hoddesdon Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
187 (0.0 overs)
James Kettleborough ct  Joe Rudkin b Morgan 76
Rob Walters ct  Syed b Burrell 52
Craig Handy ct  Sanders b Morgan 5
Sam Davis ct  Joe Rudkin b Chellew 23
Jamie Curtis lbw  b Chellew 3
Todd Sturdy ct  Joe Rudkin b Chellew 0
Rob Harcombe Not Out  13
Rhys Jones b  Chellew 5
Rob Jones ct  Burrell b Chellew 3
Bill Thorne b  Chellew 0
Richard (RJ) Gray ct  Charlie Rudkin b Chellew 2

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Michael Burrell10.0043143.004.30
Paul James4.012800.007.00
Chris Chellew15.044467.332.93
Kieran Morgan16.5253317.673.15
Charlie Rudkin2.001500.007.50

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 1 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Danny Wilson Not Out  106
Charlie Rudkin ct  Kettleborough b Curtis 33 1
Chris Chellew Not Out  35
Rob Sanders   1
Joe Rudkin   3
Michael Burrell   1
Steve Ashman  
Matt Birch  
Kieran Morgan  
Alex Syed   1
Paul James  

Hoddesdon Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Bill Thorne5.011900.003.80
Rob Harcombe11.314100.003.57
Sam Davis7.012600.003.71
Richard (RJ) Gray4.001400.003.50
Jamie Curtis7.0224124.003.43
James Kettleborough7.0131131.004.43
Rob Jones4.002400.006.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    R M White