Brondesbury v Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Cup XI on Sun 10 Jun 2012 at 13.00
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Won 85 runs

Match report Vibhor Yadav starred with bat and ball as he helped Sawbridgeworth book their place in the last 16 of the Conference Cup on Sunday.

He featured in the key partnership of the match, adding 121 for the second wicket with Olly Jackson, who was promoted to open after the late arrival of several players and Joe Rudkin losing the toss after doing the pre-match duties in the absence of the skipper.

The duo came together in the 11th over following an opening stand of 31 between Jackson & Rudkin. A very slow outfield meant they struck only three boundaries in the first 20 overs but the pair rotated the strike well as they added 50 in 76 balls.

Yadav got into stride as he struck seven fours in 12 overs while Jackson batted with mature application as both players reached 50 in a competitive 1st XI match for the first time.

The pair took the score past 150 before they fell in the space of three balls. Burrell smashed a quickfire 20 and the visitors got up to 200 before Joe Rudkin smashed the final ball of the innings for a gigantic six - which proved to be the only maximum of the day.

Chris Howard bowled a fiery spell and was rewarded with the wicket of McKechnie, who was caught at cover by Joe Rudkin, who came on first change to break a second wicket stand of 35 between Overy and Smith.

Brondesbury advanced to 71-2 in the 20th over, which meant they had the same score as Sawbo at this stage having lost one more wicket.

But having conceded 17 runs from his first 2.4 overs, Yadav took 3 wickets for one run, removing Smith, Moore and Sargent in the space of 12 balls. Two overs later, he cleaned up the home skipper Vermaak to leave the hosts reeling on 88-6 to return his best figures so far for Sawbo.

Billings removed Shah in the next over and it was now only a matter of time before Sawbo wrapped up the win. Newell struck two fours to see Brondesbury past 100 before some poor calling by the hapless Raza (who scored seven off 42 balls) saw him run out by Joe Rudkin.

A leg side catch by Edwards accounted for Raza and it was all over when Wilson's slip catch accounted for Block as Sawbo wrapped up the win with five overs in hand. Although Yadav took the plaudits with the ball, he was backed up brilliantly by the rest of the attack with all the bowlers contributing to a fine win.

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Cup XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
3nb 24w 6b 5lb 
for 7 wickets

(45.0 overs)
Olly Jackson b Vermaak 66 132 121 4 54.55
Charlie Rudkin ct Sargent b Block 4 39 33 12.12
Vibhor Yadav ct Overy b Smith 58 87 71 8 81.69
Danny Wilson b Smith 3 17 10 30.0
Michael Burrell b Raza 20 19 18 1 111.11 1
Rhys Purnell lbw b Vermaak 2 5 5 40.0
Simon Ellis Not Out  5 12 9 55.56
Joe Edwards b Raza 4 7 5 80.0 1
Joe Rudkin Not Out  6 1 1 1 600 2 1
Chris Howard  
Paul Billings  

Brondesbury Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Sam Smith 9.0049224.505.44
Byron Vermaak9.0220210.002.22
David Block9.0030130.003.33
Ali Raza9.0065232.507.22
James Newell9.013100.003.44

Brondesbury Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
16w 4lb 
for 10 wickets
121 (40.0 overs)
Scott McKechnie ct Joe Rudkin b Howard 8
James Overy lbw b Joe Rudkin 18
Sam Smith b Yadav 21
Joe Moore ct Joe Rudkin b Yadav 13
Byron Vermaak b Yadav 11
Adam Sargent ct Burrell b Yadav 0
Ali Raza ct Edwards b Burrell 7
Awais Shah b Billings 0
James Newell run out (Joe Rudkin / Edwards) 18
Imran Wajid Not Out  4
David Block ct Wilson b Purnell 1

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Cup XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Michael Burrell9.0319119.002.11
Chris Howard7.0022122.003.14
Joe Rudkin5.0025125.005.00
Vibhor Yadav9.032847.003.11
Paul Billings9.0322122.002.44
Rhys Purnell1.00111.001.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :