Harpenden v Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 28 Jun 2014 at 11.45
Match was Drawn

Match report Sawbridgeworth hung for a creditable draw at Harpenden Common on Saturday, thanks to a gritty unbeaten half century from Harry Jerome.

The 18 year old defied the Harpenden attack for over two hours, finishing unbeaten on 51, having faced 114 balls with five boundaries.

He came to the crease at 15-2 in the 6th over after the visitors were set 222 to win in a minimum of 40 overs in a shortened game after two lengthy rain breaks.

Jerome stood firm as wickets fell around him as his side stumbled to 68-6 as the match entered the final hour in which Harpenden were to bowl a further 21 overs.

Sawbo lost only one further wicket in that time, that of Ben Waring (13) who helped 43 runs for the seventh wicket in 13 overs before skipper Andrew McGarry saw Jerome through to a well deserved 50 finishing unbeaten on seven from 22 balls.

Earlier, McGarry had elected to field first on winning the toss and the home side raced to 39-0 after 6.1 overs before the first stoppage with both openers being dropped. Kieran Morgan shelled a chance at second slip off Cooper while McGarry missed Ben Frazer at slip when he was on 20.

The latter chance was particularly costly as Frazer went on to reach a century off 85 balls. The opening stand yielded 98 in just 15 overs before Ryan Cunningham struck twice in successive overs, before Waring trapped Dan Blacktopp in front for a "golden" with only his third delivery of the day.

Harpenden reached 139/3 after 23.2 overs after another 56 minute delay reduced the match to a minimum of 76 overs, with a maximum of 40 allowed for the first innings.

Jake Pankhurst was run out in the second over after the resumption but the spinners continued to toil away before Frazer and Galloway were dismissed in quick succession to leave Harpenden on 184-6.

Will Jones brought up his fifty in style with four successive sixes of Waring before Cunningham claimed his second five wicket haul of the season before Nick Lamb declared after 35.5 overs.

For only the second time this season, Sawbo didn't lose a wicket in the first five overs of their innings but their top order frailties continued as both openers fell in the space of five balls.

Burrell's run a ball 24 was the only significant contribution prior to the last hour but Jerome demonstrated a maturity beyond his years and he scored consecutive league 50s for Sawbridgeworth for the first time.

Andrew McGarry's side remain bottom, but there is optimism they can climb out of the relegation zone as the second half of the league season begins.

Harpenden Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
1w 3b 5lb 
for 8 wickets
221 (35.5 overs)
Gregg Cooper ct  Rudkin b Cunningham 33 62 49 6 67.35
Ben Frazer b  Cunningham 104 114 91 12 3 114.29
James Latham lbw  Rudkin b Waring 9 9 5 2 180.0
Daniel Blacktopp lbw  b Waring 0 2 1 0
Jake Pankhurst run out  (Jerome / Axon) 2 15 20 10.0
William Jones Not Out  53 44 34 3 5 155.88
Scott Galloway lbw  b Waring 5 5 4 1 125.00
Simon White lbw  b Cunningham 6 12 8 75.00
Alex Spencer st  Axon b Cunningham 0 1 3 0
Nick Lamb  
Daniel Wightman  

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Andrew McGarry6.003200.005.33
George Kenny5.013900.007.80
Ryan Cunningham12.5056511.204.36
Michael Burrell3.002600.008.67
Ben Waring9.0060230.006.67

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
1nb 4lb 
for 7 wickets

(44.0 overs)
Danny Wilson ct  Spencer b White 12 20 21 1 57.14
Charlie Rudkin ct  Spencer b Jones 3 24 15 20.0 2
Alexander Axon b  Jones 17 29 20 3 85.00 1
Harry Jerome Not Out  51 124 114 5 44.74 1
Chris Bird run out  (Latham / Frazer) 0 11 9 0
Michael Burrell ct  Wightman b Lamb 24 23 24 4 100
Kieran Morgan ct  Spencer b Lamb 0 1 1 0
Ben Waring lbw  b Jones 13 39 38 1 1 34.21
Andrew McGarry Not Out  7 20 22 1 31.82
George Kenny  
Ryan Cunningham  

Harpenden Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
William Jones13.052137.001.62
Simon White6.0223123.003.83
Ben Frazer9.0226126.002.89
Nick Lamb7.0135217.505.00
Daniel Wightman9.032200.002.44