Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI v Hemel Hempstead on Sat 09 May 2015 at 11.30
Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club Won 10 wickets

Match report Charlie Rudkin and Gary Brown re-wrote the Sawbridgeworth league record books as they both struck unbeaten centuries in their side’s 10 wicket opening day victory over Hemel Hempstead in the Saracens Hertfordshire Premier Cricket League.

Rudkin (110*), scored his maiden league century for the Town Fields club, while Brown marked his league debut following his arrival from Stevenage with 111 not out from 85 balls. The pair easily surpassed the previous Sawbo league opening stand of 179 between Nick Daley and Matt Birch against Watford in September 1996.

Brown’s 75 ball century was the fourth fastest league ton by any Sawbridgeworth batsman since 1984, and the quickest by an English born player. The pair also featured in the highest stand for any wicket in a 1st XI league game in the same period, beating Daniel Hull and Richard Webb’s second wicket partnership of 209 at Dunstable in June 2001.

Earlier, Hemel had lost their last eight wickets for 100 runs with Harry Jerome (4-40) and Andrew McGarry (2-26) being the pick of the Sawbridgeworth attack who fought back magnificently after the visitors had reached 128-2 in the 34th over.

The visitors appeared to have posted a decent total but there was no hint of the carnage to follow as the hosts reached their target with more than 15 overs to spare as Sawbridgeworth won the opening day of the league season for the first time since 2011.

Skipper Danny Wilson commented: “It was the most destructive display of batting I’ve ever seen. After about six overs I never thought they would get out. It was a privilege to watch.”

Hemel Hempstead Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
2nb 12w 9lb 
for 10 wickets
228 (49.4 overs)
Brett Penny b  Jerome 41 100 71 5 57.75
Hemish Ilangaratne lbw  b Brown 28 73 63 4 44.44
Jay O'Nien lbw  b Billings 21 60 46 1 45.65
Sam Jenkinson ct  Burrell b Jerome 55 74 49 6 112.24
Jack Doodson b  McGarry 17 14 15 4 113.33
Chris Blunt ct  Jerome b McGarry 5 10 10 1 50.0
Alistair Leighton ct  Axon b McGarry 18 20 12 1 1 150.0
Brad Finch b  Burrell 7 19 11 63.64
Parth Mehta b  Jerome 10 17 18 1 55.56
Steve Reader b  Jerome 2 4 3 66.67
Richard Morton Not Out  1 1 1 100

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Michael Burrell10.0047147.004.70
Andrew McGarry10.0226213.002.60
Charlie Rudkin10.014200.004.20
Gary Brown4.0019119.004.75
Harry Jerome7.4040410.005.22
Nick O'Connell-Smith5.0030130.006.00
Matthew Billings3.0015115.005.00

Sawbridgeworth Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
2nb 6w 1lb 
for 0 wickets

(34.5 overs)
Charlie Rudkin Not Out  110 123 125 12 4 88.00
Gary Brown Not Out  111 123 85 15 5 130.59
Danny Wilson  
Harry Jerome   1
Alexander Axon   1
Joe Regan  
Michael Burrell   1
Andrew McGarry  
Alex Syed  
Nick O'Connell-Smith  
Matthew Billings  

Hemel Hempstead Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Brad Finch3.002300.007.67
Brett Penny 3.002500.008.33
Steve Reader3.003400.0011.33
Richard Morton10.014200.004.20
Parth Mehta5.004400.008.80
Jack Doodson7.503000.003.83
Sam Jenkinson3.003100.0010.33

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Richard White